Local authority elections results

Publication Date: Fri, 25 Apr 2008

Last night's elections saw a number of changes made to some of the Island's local authorities.

Voters went to the polls in Douglas, Onchan, Ramsey, Braddan, Laxey and Marown.

In Onchan, Chairman Tim Norton was ousted.

Mr Norton told crowds he saw himslef as a scapegoat for the recent 9% rate rise.

Ellis Killey also failed to get re-elected to Onchan Commissioners.

Other long-standing members of local authorities lost their seats last night.

Inkerman Faragher who was standing in Athol ward in Douglas failed to get re-elected, and Dot Pitts missed out in St Georges.

Sacked former clerk of Braddan Commissioners, Charles Buster Lewin, failed to make a return to politics, losing to the 5 outgoing members of the authority.

Meanwhile, it was a successful night for the Liberal Vannin party.

Steve Babb took the third highest number of votes in Onchan and Sara Hackman was elected in St George's ward.

In Ramsey, Nigel Malpasss and Wilfred Young were the successful candidates.

Lib Van's Glen Pearce-White took a seat in Laxey, and Kate Beecroft was re-elected to Braddan Commissioners.